guruterew.blogg.se

Lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist
Lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist








lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist

#Lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist how to#

I couldn’t play anything with pedals when I went pedal harp shopping, but I at least knew how to put them in various keys.

lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist

I did bring some sheet music, though, that saved my a** in the end. Definitely don’t be afraid to play other genres on it for testing if that’s what works for you!. In the end, I mainly used the Montfort Bourree for sound testing because I knew exactly how it was supposed to sound like.Īnother consideration is that it helps to know how to move pedals. So it really helps to be prepared to play a lot of harps! I wish I’d practiced more before I went – now I blacked out in the middle of the Handel concerto. The integral part of harp shopping is that you’ll need to try various harps and listen/feel to what happens when you play it. There are a lot of nice used pedal harps on marktplaats! In the Netherlands, there is and and marktplaats of course. Check the listings of local harp societies and craigslist-type websites to see what’s available. I can imagine that this option (waiting and seeing until you find a nice ‘deal’) is a good option for younger students or if you are very happy with your current harp. Harps being sold by professionals or students upgrading to a newer / other model remain a good option – usually these harps are very well cared for and in a good condition, but then you need to be lucky that someone is selling their harp at exactly the moment you are looking for a new one. Eventually, I decided not to go down this road because I have been playing a clunky old harp for years – I allowed myself the ‘present’ of not having to worry about things falling apart or soundboards imploding. Harps that were intensively used by a music school or an orchestra may sound like a nice deal but can end up costing lots of money in repairs and regulation.

lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist

Let’s not forget the option of buying second hand! This may allow you to acquire a harp from a higher price segment, but the downside could be that the harp is nearing the end of its life cycle. (I didn’t mention Aoyama and Venus and there are probably many more harp builders). You can visit the websites of various harp makers to see what they are currently offering. I know that Pilgrim offers very affordable pedal harps but I’ve never liked their sound so I haven’t tried them. ‘Stretch goals’ included the Salvi Aurora and the Lyon and Healy style 30. So, for me, the options were the Salvi Daphne series, the Salvi Arion, the Camac Clio and the Lyon and Healy Chicago. Actually, apparently there are heaps of people, even professionals, playing their straight-backed Daphne in orchestras. There are plenty of harps for people who can’t afford the Ultra Top Of The Line Models but would still like a good instrument that could possible be of use in an orchestra / public recitals.

lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist

Of course I dreamed of a L&H Style 23, but that would have required taking out a mortgage so that wasn’t an option. There is an entire range of pedal harps, from the concert-hall grade concert grands to harps geared toward students/ and others on a budget. So do take this with a grain of salt 🙂 ). So here are my tips! (Evidence class E or so, non-expert opinion based on N=1 and I happened to be the test subject. There is surprisingly little information about how to buy a pedal harp. You love your harp teacher and will certainly bring them along but in the end, you would like to make your own decision. You’re not a 6-year old prodigy, you’re an adult buying your first pedal harp from your hard-earned generously gifted money. So you want to buy a pedal harp Posted: 11 December 2015 | Author: CT | Filed under: Harp | 5 Comments










Lyon and healy harp for sale craigslist